Tags

, ,

I’m having a bit of writers’ block this week, although part of that seems to be the nature of my job — I get ten minutes of free mental space, and then something comes up. I’m still got a big post percolating on the state of this country, especially since the Harper government has just announced a “review” of Canadian history which is just problematic as hell. But I’m going to need to get my head around it, and I don’t really have time to do that at the moment.

Fortunately, I’m not on call this weekend. I’ve got plans, of course, which mostly involve locking myself into the workshop and getting about half a dozen things done. I need to blunt two zweihänders for use in SCA cut-and-thrust; blunt the fiancée’s rapier for the same; strap my breastplate (assuming that my rivets arrive, otherwise I’ll have to stop at sewing buckles to the straps); and cut out and sew together my new kidney belt, which is currently a shoulder of heavy-weight leather in the shop. All of this is going to have to wait until after I’ve re-organized the shop, of course: we had someone in working on the sump pump that that required dismantling half the place and stacking it in other places. Suffice to say, I plan on turning on some music and just spending my whole Saturday in there, and probably a fair bit of Sunday, too.

I also want to review my longsword drills and work out some sword-and-shield drills while I’m at it; I was practicing at the pell this week and I’m worried about training myself into bad habits again.

So I’ve got a bunch of stuff to do, but it’s finally my own stuff, which, let’s face it, I’ve not had the most time for lately.

Also, as a quick update, the concerns that I posted about earlier this week regarding the new SCA sword forum seem to have been well-received. I plan on staying with the SCA Historic Combat group and doing my best to contribute.

