Tags

, ,

It’s been a busy, busy week. The wedding planning has shifted into high gear, complete with suit-fittings, logistical planning, bureaucratic procedures, problems with the invitations (roughly a third of our invites have apparently been lost in the mail) and a meeting with our officiant to plan our ceremony. That last was interesting; since neither of us is particularly religious (and what religion we have we believe ought to be private and personal) we didn’t feel that an overtly religious ceremony was appropriate. Fortunately, The Fiancée™ found some community resources which hooked us into a local network of people who can perform legal marriages, and the gentleman we found has been a perfect fit.

Since we’d never met him, The Fiancée™ suggested that he get to know us by reading our blogs… and pretty much the first thing he said to me was that my blog (specifically one of my more recent posts) had actually made him cry. I guess that whole “emotional impact” think I was aiming for that day worked. I apologized, and felt kind of awkward about it, but he motored on with the layout of the ceremony and he’s such a nice guy that we ended up turning a couple of hours of planning into a rather pleasant afternoon.

I followed that up with some calls to family to work out both the logistics of getting all of us up here… and the politics of having us all in the same place. Things have improved on that front in recent years (for a while after my parents’ divorce getting the family together was rather like organizing a Middle East peace summit) but there’s still a few rough patches and areas of concern.

There’s nothing much surprising with any of that – we’re certainly no worse off than a lot of the wedding parties I’ve seen; in fact I’d say we’re doing noticeably better than the average. We’re on-schedule, under-budget, and not stressing out over trivia. The Fiancée™ has taken to watching bridal shows on TLC and Discovery, but she’s managed to resist taking too many notes.

Another big pull on my time right now is my new position in the local SCA group: I’ve taken over the office of Seneschal. For the non-SCA people, we use medieval titles for our group officers; our treasurers are called “exchequers”, for example, our first-aid coordinators “chirurgeons”, and so on. Chapter executive officers are called “seneschals”. Basically, I’ve taken on the job of coordinating the local group and making sure we’re acting in accordance with SCA policies and mundane laws. After two weeks in the role, I’ve decided that buying a day-planner app is probably a good idea: there’s just so much to keep track of. Most of it isn’t particularly disastrous, but you’ve got to keep on top of it constantly, lest something important get missed.

The third thing, of course, is work. It’s the end of the summer and vacations are happening: in a ten week period three of our employees will be gone on two-week vacations, although fortunately not overlapping ones. That might not sound like much, until you remember that we’ve only got half-a-dozen people in our company; the extra workload adds up. Fortunately, I’ve got my home office setup just how I want it, so I can spend a day or two out of every five working from home.

Everything is working out, but I feel like I’m juggling with one too many bowling pins right now. I just need to keep everything in the air and moving in the right direction… and not stress out too much. I think I can handle it. I think I can maintain.

