I’m getting sick and tired of being sick and tired.

I’m still recovering from pneumonia. The new drugs have been helping, but not fast enough… which is my usual complaint about medications. I was raised on Star Trek episodes, which I suspect has seriously skewed my expectations of the medical profession: If Dr. Crusher were here she’d wave a tricorder around and I’d be fixed by now. This “take two weeks of gut-rotting antibiotics and then we’ll see if you get better” shit is insufficiently futuristic.

On the plus side, while the alarming amount of crud which I’ve been coughing up hasn’t much abated, it’s coming up clear instead of green which I can only assume is a good thing. Purulent discharge is never a good thing, and it’s doubly bad when I’m the one doing the discharging.

Admittedly, I probably should have taken the last few days a bit easier. Saturday was a trip to the farmers market, car maintenance, cooking, and our SCA canton potluck. Sunday was a full-day doggie play-date with some friends, who stayed for dinner. That’s a lot more social for me than most weekends even when I’m healthy; I don’t regret it at all, but my reserves are a lot shallower than usual and I’m paying the price this morning.

I was actually kind of disappointed to wake up in this rough shape. I was hoping to get into the office today. At the boss’ request I’ve been working from home for the past week, which I have to admit is fair: He doesn’t want me coughing crap all over the office for various health and safety reasons, and a lot of my job can be done through a remote connection.

But I’m ready to get back to normal. I’m just hoping it happens soon.

